If only I had known

If only I had known all the facts three and a half years ago while I was applying for the LAE, maybe I would have reconsidered.

Senior year feels like it came too fast. Time is just a cool breeze in this desert: so brief, so fragile, so fleeting.  At one point I knew myself as a freshman wondering what the hell a digest was and dealing with the day-to-day grind. It was simpler then when all I needed to do was learn the law. Books, codals, reviewers, and recits – that was the rinse cycle, it was the routine. But it’s different now. To a certain extent, learning the law still occupies my time in reviewing the lessons for class. But then there’s OLA.

People always told me that things get better as the years go on. They were wrong every year. Every year is harder, every year I understood better that the administration doesn’t give a shit whether a student lives or dies (truth), although they might be disappointed in the dying part since there would be lesser bar passers (provided he was a diligent student). Unless you have a well-known family name, or contacts in the college, the simple truth facing an ordinary student is just this: nobody cares.

As the years went by, I noticed a strange feeling in me that follows after I notice how someone is awestruck by the UP Law institution. Think of it this way: it is much like a  gladiator’s ghost looking at a tourist walking into the ruins of the Roman Colosseum. They walk in the front doors and into a wide hall and gaze upon the Roman text etched in stone in front of the theatre. They see an institution of honor and excellence with deep foundations and high walls of concrete. They see the names of honorable men and women. They see their titles set in stone: enduring, eternal. But the ghost sees only two things: blood and sand.

Dramatic? I don’t intend it to be. It would have been funny if it was freshman year. But now with only a semester and a half to go before graduation, seniors are too old to be complaining about law school. It is what it is. This is what they miss in the brochures and websites and testimonials and media coverage and the bar topnotcher list. Four years of your life dictated by the whimsical moods of professors and the administrators: they should have included that in the brochure.

 

Leave a Reply

